MEDES-SW (Student Workshop) - CALL FOR PAPERS

Workshop papers are also published by ACM and indexed by the ACM Digital Library.

The MEDES-SW 09, to be held in conjunction with the international ACM conference Management of Emergent Digital EcoSystems (MEDES 2009), aims at facilitating interactions among young researchers and at offering students the opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas about current and future works. We encourage Master degree students and doctoral PhD students to submit a paper relating their work. Papers should clearly describe the problem (a clear formulation of the research topic), explain why it is important, detail what are the existing solutions and why they are not convenient, and give a description of the proposed approach and its expected contributions. There should be enough substance to provide discussion, but the work does not need to be complete.

Student Workshop topics are similar to main conference topics. Therefore, the topics of interest include the following, but are not limited to them:

  • - Digital Ecosystem Infrastructure
  • - Web Technologies
  • - Social Networks
  • - Data and Knowledge Management Systems
  • - Multimedia Information Retrieval
  • - Ontology Management
  • - Services Systems and Engineering
  • - E-Services , E-Learning, E-Humanities and E-Government
  • - Emergent Intelligence
  • - Game Theory
  • - Networks and Protocols
  • - Security and Privacy
  • - Standardization and Extensible Languages
  • - Human-Computer Interaction
  • - Business Intelligence
  • - B2B, B2C, B2A, E-Commerce, E-Business
  • - E-Marketing and E-Procurement
  • - Digital Library
  • - Open source

Submission Guidelines

  • - Paper must be written in English
  • - Submitted papers should be formatted with the MEDES guidelines
  • - Submitted papers must include between 4 and 6 pages, depending on the progress of the work
  • - Submitted papers must be in an electronic form and should be uploaded using the conference submission website by choosing "Student Workshop" as the Conference Track

Important dates

  • - Submission deadline: July 31, 2009
  • - Notification of acceptance: September 9, 2009
  • - Camera-ready paper and registration: September 15, 2009
  • - Conference / Workshops dates: October 27-30, 2009


The author of an accepted paper is expected to attend the workshop. More precisely, accepted papers must be presented during MEDES-SW in order to be included in the proceedings (and thus being indexed by ACM Digital Library). In order to ensure a better communication around the works, a poster illustrating these latter will be required. "Best student paper" and "Best student presentation" will be awarded at the end of the workshop.

Organizers - Contact

  • Cécile Favre, Université de Lyon (ERIC, Lyon 2) - France
  • Nicolas Lumineau, Université de Lyon (LIRIS, Lyon 1) - France
  • Virginie Sans, Université de Cergy-Pontoise (ETIS) - France
  • Contact information:

Program committee

To be completed

  • - Anne-Muriel Arigon (Université Montpellier 2, France)
  • - Nadir Belkhiter (Université Laval, Canada)
  • - Agnès Braud (Université de Strasbourg, France)
  • - Guillaume Cabanac (Université Toulouse 3, France)
  • - Luc Damas (Université de Savoie, France)
  • - Cyril De Runz (Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France)
  • - Jérôme Fortin (Université Montpellier 2, France)
  • - David Gross-Amblard (Université de Bourgogne, France)
  • - Hakim Hacid (Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, France)
  • - Christophe Kolski (Université de Valenciennes, France)
  • - Ivan Lavallée (Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes, France)
  • - Daniel Lemire (Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada)
  • - Philippe Lenca (Telecom Bretagne, France)
  • - Philippe Lopistéguy (Université de Pau et des Pays de l'Adour, France)
  • - Laura-Maria Maag (Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, France)
  • - Patrick Marcel (Université François Rabelais de Tours, France)
  • - Jose-Norberto Mazon (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)
  • - Rokia Missaoui (Université du Québec en Outaouais, Canada)
  • - Victor Muntes-Mulero (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)
  • - Myriam Ribière (Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, France)
  • - Gilbert Ritschard (Université de Genève, Switzerland)
  • - Ruslan Fomkin (Karolinska Institutet, Sweden)
  • - Fatiha Saïs (Université Paris-Sud 11, France)
  • - Yacine Sam (Université Aix-Marseille, France)
  • - Ronan Tournier (Université Toulouse 1, France)